Wednesday, February 1, 2012

De Puniet closes Valencia test with fastest lap

The three riders piloting MotoGP™ CRT (Claiming Rule Team) bikes continued with development of the ART machine, with Randy de Puniet of the Aspar Team topping the timesheets with a best lap of 1’34.9, seven tenths better than his teammate Aleix Espargaró and nearly two seconds ahead of Italy's Mattia Pasini (Speed Master).

"Today the conditions were worse, the cold and wind have caused the track to have even less grip than yesterday, and it cost us more to catch up. Yet we improved our lap times, but I am convinced that we would have improved more if the conditions were better," said De Puniet. "Today we continued working hard on the electronics, and also on managing the engine braking and the clutch. We're leaving Valencia happy to have collected a good amount of information, and defined the next steps forward for the next tests at Jerez as well. The year has started great, I hope we continue in the same way. "

In the Moto3 category, reliability has been the key with the new bikes, and this seems to have been achieved by all the teams present, havinf completed the second day of testing successfully and with no major mechanical issues with the KTM powered bikes at the Cheste circuit. The fastest rider of the day was Sandro Cortese, with a time of 1’43.2 being the best of his 48 laps; while three tenths behind the German was Luis Salom, who recorded the fasted time on the first day of practice. Third was Hector Faubel, who finished just over half a second behind Cortese.

The Moto3 riders return next week along with the Moto2 field for the Official IRTA test at the Circuit de la Comunitat Valenciana Ricardo Tormo, from the 8th to the 10tho of February, with free access for spectating fans.

Unofficial day two times provided by teams:

1.- Randy De Puniet 1’34.9 35 laps
2.- Aleix Espargaró 1’35.6 46 laps 
3.- Mattia Pasini 1'36.7 43 laps 
Moto3 1.- Sandro Cortese 1’43.2 48 laps 
2.- Luis Salom 1’43.5 31 laps 
3.- Héctor Faubel 1’43.8 56 laps > 4.- Niklas Ajo 1’44.0 50 laps 
5.- Zulfahmi Khairuddin 1’44.1 43 laps 
6.- Alberto Moncayo 1’44.2 52 laps 
7.- Danny Kent 1’44.2 64 laps 
8.- Brad Binder 1’45.7 49 laps 
9.- Arthur Sissis 1’46.2 55 laps

source: motogp official

Related Post

Digg Google Bookmarks reddit Mixx StumbleUpon Technorati Yahoo! Buzz DesignFloat Delicious BlinkList Furl